September 14-20, 2018 , Reno Tahoe

Press Releases

2016 Interbike Award Winners Announced


- American Flyers Cast Joins Industry Celebration -

LAS VEGAS, Nev. – September 24, 2016 – Three cast members from the iconic 80’s cycling film “American Flyers” met on stage and kicked off the 3rd annual Interbike Awards Gala last night at the Mandalay Bay Convention Center. Rae Dawn Chong (Sarah), Alexandra Paul (Becky) and Luca Bercovici (Barry ‘The Cannibal’ Muzzin) were presented an award for the film’s impact on cycling around the world.
“It was such a special night,” said Pat Hus, Vice President of Interbike. “Our partners did a great job with all of the nominees and winners, and the energy in the room was fantastic.”

Hosted by comedy veteran Alonzo Bodden and DJ Tina T, the awards ceremony presented 33 winners with the coveted IB Award. The awards were distributed as follows: (note: all category descriptions and a full list of nominees can be found on the Interbike website at

  • Best Urban Lifestyle Shop
    • Splendid Cycles, Portland OR
  • Best Pro Road Shop
    • Strictly Bicycles, Ft. Lee NJ
  • Domestic Road Cyclist of the Year (male)
    • Neilson Powless
  • Domestic Road Cyclist of the Year (female)
    • Coryn Rivera
  • E-Bike of the Year
    • Stromer ST2s
  • E-Bike Product Innovation of the Year
    • Bosch CX
  • Next Generation Award
    • Bike to School Challenge, Northeast Ohio Suburbs
  • Leadership Award
    • Mayor Betsy Price, Ft. Worth TX
  • Profitability Award – Bike
    • Giant
  • Profitability Award – Accessories
    • Serfas
  • The Service Award
    • Cannondale
  • International Triathlete of the Year (male/female)
    • Gwen Jorgensen
  • Breakthrough North American Triathlete
    • Katie Zaferes
  • Triathlon Innovation of the Year
    • Quintana Roo PRfive
  • Domestic Cyclocross Rider of the Year (male)
    • Jamie Driscoll
  • Domestic Cyclocross Rider of the Year (female)
    • Amanda Miller
  • Domestic Mountain Bike Race of the Year
    • Carson City Off-Road
  • Mountain Bike of the Year
    • Specialized Stumpjumper sixFATTIE Expert
  • Mountain Component of the Year
    • SRAM Eagle Drivetrain
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    • Steve Flagg
  • Road Bike of the Year
    • Giant TCR Advanced
  • Road Component of the Year
    • SRAM Red eTap
  • Best Mountain Bike Shop
    • Mountain Bike Specialists, Durango CO
  • Best Omni-Channel Retailer
    • Performance Bicycle, Chapel Hill NC
  • Next Generation Rider of the Year
    • Megan Bradley
  • Mountain Accessory of the Year
    • 6D ATB-1 Trail
  • Best in Show – Mountain
    • Scott Spark RC
  • Road Accessory of the Year
    • Garmin Varia
  • Best in Show – Road
    • Stages Dash Computer & Link Software
  • Brand of the Year
    • Trek
  • Distributor of the Year
    • QBP
  • Best Women’s/Female-Friendly Shop
    • Tribella, Denver, CO
  • 2016 Retailer of the Year
    • Boulder Cycle Sport, Boulder CO